University of Sheffield

No ratings yet
4 Palmerston Road, Sheffield S10 2TE,
South Yorkshire United Kingdom
The University of Sheffield (informally Sheffield University) is a public research university in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England. It received its royal charter in 1905 as successor to the University College of Sheffield, which was established in 1897 by the merger of Sheffield Medical School (founded in 1828), Firth College (1879) and Sheffield Technical School (1884). Sheffield is a multi-campus university and it consists of a number of sites and individual buildings predominantly over two campus areas: the Western Bank and the St George's. The university is organised into five academic faculties composed of multiple departments. It had 18,975 undergraduate and 8,220 postgraduate students in 2014/15. Its annual income for 2014–15 was £560.6 million of which £144.1 million was from research grants and contracts, with an expenditure of £539.3 million resulting in a surplus of £21.3 million. The university is widely recognised as a leading research and teaching university both in the UK and in the world. The QS World University Rankings 2015-16 placed Sheffield as the 80th university worldwide and 16th in the UK. In 2011, Sheffield was named 'University of the Year' in the Times Higher Education awards. The Times Higher Education Student Experience Survey 2014 ranked the University of Sheffield first for student experience, social life, university facilities and accommodation, among other categories. It is one of the original red brick universities, a member of the Russell Group of research-intensive universities, the Worldwide Universities Network, the N8 Group of the eight most research intensive universities in Northern England and the White Rose University Consortium. There are five Nobel Prize winners amongst Sheffield alumni and academics.

No Courses, Classes and Workshop added on this Institution.